The Desire of Christ (Advent 2012 – Day 15)

Sorry I am really late in posting for today’s advent. I was a real cotton headed ninny muggins and didn’t write out today’s post ahead of time. I figured I’d just write it when I got home from church, but I had some youth minister business to attend that held me up, and our sound board guy got sick and so I had to work the board for the children’s Christmas special. All this to say I just got in from a long day and realized I hadn’t written anything for Advent. Sorry about the delay.

GodsHands

Today’s scripture:

“Father, I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory that you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world.”

—John17:24

This is the desire of Christ, that you would be with him and experience the glory that is the Love of the father. Jesus’ mission was not only to show us the way, but to become the way. He did not simply point us in the right direction willingly walked with us and died for us so that we could be united with God through him. We see in this verse (and in the first verses of John) that Christ was before the foundation of the world. This means that God knew before he even spoke a single world of salvation that he would send his son to atone for the sins of all mankind.

God made man knowing he would fall, but also knowing that he would one day be reunited with him in Christ. This is the greatest love story. That God would give us life, and though we turned from him, he never gave up on us. The idea that a being as holy, powerful, and perfect as God would humble himself and take our failures upon himself for our sake is mind-blowing. That God would so love the world that he would give his only son is awe-inspiring. Jesus was not Plan B, but rather Plan A. Man’s falling severed our relationship with the Lord, but it would eventually be the means for God to reveal his love for us all in the most incredible and inconceivable way, through Jesus Christ. All thing work for the glory of God and it is Christ’s desire that in the end we would join him in eternal presence with God the father. To think that such a gift would come in the form of a tiny baby born in a manger. This is what Christmas is really about, the grand moment when the Christ child came to us, the child who would grow to be a man that would unite all Peoples with God. This is the good news of Christmas, that the savior has been born. Let us celebrate.

Leave a Reply

